

For Immediate Release: September 14, 2016

## Craig McGregor re-elected Chair of the Board

At the annual school board meeting held on September 13, 2016, St. James-Assiniboia School Division re-elected Trustee Craig McGregor as Chair of the Board for the 2016-2017 school year. Trustee Cheryl Smukowich was also re-elected as Vice Chair of the Board.

Representing the Silver Heights-Booth Ward since October 2002, Trustee McGregor will be serving his fourth consecutive year as Board Chair.

"I want to express my sincere thanks to each and every one of you for your support over the past year and the confidence you have in my continued leadership in the coming year," said Mr. McGregor, referring to his board colleagues. "I congratulate each one of you for your valuable leadership in making this a strong and effective Board in dealing with the issues and challenges we face and wish everyone the very best in the coming year!"

Trustee Smukowich has been a member of the St. James-Assiniboia School Board since October 2006. She represents the Kirkfield-St. Charles Ward and has served as Vice Chair for the past three years, 2013-14, 2014-15 and 2015-16.

Chairs of the Division Standing Committees elected at the meeting are as follows:

Education Committee
Trustee Jennifer Lawson

Finance/ Facilities Committee
Trustee Craig Johnson

Personnel Committee
Trustee Sandy Lethbridge

For more information, please contact Jen Cameron, Information Officer at 204-888-7951, ext. 2013.

2574 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3J 0H8
Telephone: 204-888-7951 Fax: 204-831-0859 Website: www.sjsd.net