

For Immediate Release: September 15, 2021

Cheryl Smukowich elected Chair of the Board for St. James-Assiniboia School Division

At the Inaugural St. James-Assiniboia School Division Board Meeting held on September 14, 2021, the Board elected Trustee Cheryl Smukowich as Chair of the Board for the 2021-2022 school year. Likewise, Trustee Jennifer Lawson was elected as Vice-Chair of the Board.

Trustee Smukowich has been a member of the St. James-Assiniboia School Board since October 2006 and represents the Kirkfield-St.Charles Ward. Trustee Lawson was first elected to the School Board in October 2010 and represents the King Edward-Deer Lodge Ward.

At the meeting, Chairs of the Division Standing Committees were also elected as follows:

Education Committee

Trustee Holly Hunter

Community Engagement Committee

Trustee Nicole Bowering

Finance/Facilities Committee

Trustee Craig Glennie

Governance Committee

Trustee Bruce Chegus

Personnel Committee

Trustee Sandy Lethbridge

For more information, please contact Cory Cameron, Information Officer at 204-888-7951, ext. 2013.

2574 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3J 0H8
Telephone: 204-888-7951 Fax: 204-831-0859 Website: www.sjasd.ca