



For Immediate Release: September 11, 2019

Cheryl Smukowich re-elected Chair of the Board

At the School Board meeting held on September 10, 2019, St. James-Assiniboia School Division re-elected Trustee Cheryl Smukowich as Chair of the Board for the 2019-2020 school year. Trustee Jennifer Lawson was also re-elected to serve as Vice Chair of the Board.

Trustee Smukowich represents the Kirkfield-St. Charles Ward and has been part the St. James-Assiniboia School Board for the past 13 years. She held the Vice Chair position for five years and is now entering her second year as Chair. Trustee Lawson represents the King-Edward Deer Lodge Ward and has been a member of the board since October 2010.

Also at this time of year, the board elects three chairs for the Divisional Standing Committees. The following chairs will steer the respective committees in 2019-2020:



Education Committee
Trustee Bruce Chegus

Finance/ Facilities Committee
Trustee Craig Glennie

Personnel Committee
Trustee Sandy Lethbridge

For more information, please visit our school board page, located under governance at www.sjasd.ca.

If you have any questions or inquiries, please contact Jen Cameron, Information Officer, at 204-888-7951 ext 2013 or jcameron@sjsd.net.

2574 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3J 0H8
Telephone: 204-888-7951 Fax: 204-831-0859 Website: www.sjasd.ca