St. James Scholarship Foundation AGM Minutes May 11, 2023, 6:00 PM Boardroom - 2574 Portage Ave. & TEAMS (Hybrid)

Attendance: Bruce Alexander, President

Dorothy Y. Young, Vice President Monika Kananowicz, Treasurer

Michelle Lancaster, Communications Officer

Dawn Hicks, Director Katherine Misko, Director Rockford McKay, Director Tom Dercola, Director Chris Sculthorp, Director George Valentim, Director Angela Dunn, Trustee

Regrets: Stefan Jonasson, Director

1. Approval of Agenda

MOTION

Agenda approved as presented

CARRIED

2. Land Acknowledgement

The St. James Scholarship Foundation acknowledges that we are on Treaty One Land, the traditional territory of the Anishinaabe, Ininew and Dakota peoples, and homeland of the Red River Métis Nation.

3. Adoption of Minutes – February 2, 2023

MOTION

To approve February 2, 2023 meeting minutes

CARRIED

4. President's Report

My activities since our February meeting:

- Prepared president's remarks and a partnership profile of the Winnipeg Foundation for the 2022 Annual Report.
- Reviewed the Organizational By-Law to determine areas for updating. The revisions were forwarded to the Annual Meeting for and affirmation motion and signing by the president and secretary treasurer.
- Forwarded an electronic copy of the 2021 Annual Report to George Chapman for his information.
- Reviewed the payroll deduction fund raiser with the school board chair.

President's report received as information.

5. Secretary-Treasurer's Report

Monika presented St. James Scholarship Foundation Financial Report for year ended December 31, 2022 (as attached)

MOTION

That the financial statements as at December 31, 2022 be approved as presented

CARRIED

6. Annual Report 2022

MOTION

That the 2022 Annual Report be approved as presented, with revision as noted

CARRIED

7. Correspondence

Various correspondence was received regarding the passing of Jack Carnegie. This information was compiled and presented to the family.

We have also received 1 application towards Winnipeg Airports Authority (WAA) Queen Elizabeth II Award. On June 2nd Monika will e-mail all forms from applicants to vote for this award winner.

8. Auditors

MOTION

That the board does not appoint specific audit services and instead relies upon the school division auditors whose work encompasses our banking business.

CARRIED

9. Election of Officers

MOTION

That the current slate of officers be re-confirmed

- B. Alexander, President
- D. Y. Young, Vice-President

CARRIED

10. Distribution of Winnipeg Foundation Income

MOTION

That the Winnipeg Foundation income be retained in our local fund rather than to be re-invested

CARRIED

11. Organizational By-Law Update

Draft copy of the amended By-Law was circulated prior to AGM.

MOTION

That the St. James Scholarship Foundation Organization By-Law be re-affirmed with the updates as noted.

CARRIED

12. Planning for 2023-2024

Next meeting date will be on Thursday October 19th at 5 pm.

13. Business Arising

The board recognizes the contributions made by school division staff in support of the scholarship fund, specifically: Monika Kananowicz, Michelle Lancaster, and Elizabeth Gwilliam. This administrative support is given freely and is indispensable in our operations.

MOTION

That Bruce will write a thank you letter to the Board, and for recognized school division staff personnel files.

CARRIED

14. New Business

Monika has received 2 new award applications within the last couple of weeks. Both applications were circulated prior to the AGM.

• One is from the Indigenous Leadership Development Institute. This will be a one-time award of \$200 at St. James.

MOTION

That this award be approved for presentation in June 2023 pending receipt of funds.

CARRIED

 And the other from Jeff and Cheryl Chartrand (named: The Welek and Hinda Humanitarian Award). Cheque was received. Value of the award is \$200 to be given out at Sturgeon over the next 6 years.

MOTION

That this award be approved for presentation in June 2023.

CARRIED

15. Adjournment

6:43 pm

Minutes recorded by Monika Kananowicz, Treasurer