

For Immediate Release: November 7, 2018

Cheryl Smukowich elected Chair of the Board

At the Inaugural Board Meeting held on November 6, 2018, St. James-Assiniboia School Division elected Trustee Cheryl Smukowich as Chair of the Board for the 2018-2019 school year. Trustee Jennifer Lawson was elected as Vice Chair of the Board.

Trustee Smukowich has been a member of the St. James-Assiniboia School Board since October 2006. She represents the Kirkfield-St.Charles Ward and has served as Vice Chair for the past five years. Trustee Lawson was first elected to the School Board in October 2010 and represents the King Edward-Deer Lodge Ward.

As a follow up to the October 24, 2018 election, St. James-Assiniboia School Board gained four new school trustees. We wish to officially welcome trustees Nicole Bowering, Craig Glennie, Holly Hunter and Bryan Metcalfe to our Board. These trustees join our five returning board members: Board Chair Cheryl Smukowich, Board Vice-Chair Jennifer Lawson, Trustee Bruce Chegus, Trustee Sandy Lethbridge and Trustee Craig Johnson.

We wish to also share a word of thanks to our four outgoing trustees - Ed Hume, Craig McGregor, John Mulligan and Peter Woods - for their years of dedication, leadership and service in our Division. Their contributions and passion for their elected role had a tremendous impact on continuing to grow and support educational opportunities for all students in SJASD.

At the Inaugural Board Meeting, Chairs of the Division Standing Committees were also elected and appointed as follows:

Education CommitteeFinance/ Facilities CommitteePersonnel CommitteeTrustee Bruce ChegusTrustee Bryan MetcalfeTrustee Sandy Lethbridge

For more information, please contact Jen Cameron, Information Officer at 204-888-7951, ext. 2013.

2574 Portage Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3J 0H8
Telephone: 204-888-7951 Fax: 204-831-0859 Website: www.sjasd.ca