Strathmillan Parent Council AGM September 6, 2019

Welcome by Sandy at 9:15:

Thank you all for coming this morning. Because of your attendance we have met quorum and are able to vote for a vacant position in our executive. Please make sure you have signed your name on one of the sign-up sheets, as we need to provide a list of attendees to the Board.

Please let us know if you are interested in becoming part of the Parent Council executive. Next year we will need to fill several vacant positions.

Parent Council meets on Tuesday evenings at 7pm in the Library. We do not meet every month, we have 5 or 6 meetings a year. Our next meeting is on October 15th at 7pm. Childcare is provided.

Coming to meetings does not mean you need to volunteer or commit to anything. It is a great way to meet other parents and get to know what is going on at the school. You can also share ideas of possible fundraisers or fun activities.

Voting in of new executive member:

This year we are lucky to have several people willing to continue in their positions for another year, although we will need new people to fill these positions next year.

Our current executive is Sandy Marsh Hamm as Co-Chair, Rebecca Misko as Vice President, Irene Beaulieu as Secretary and Felicia Lundgren as Treasurer.

Sandy has nominated Matthew McBurney for co-Chair of Parent Council. Heidi Richardson has seconded.

Motion to Vote by Sandy. All in favour of Matthew McBurney as Co-Chair for 2019-2020. None opposed. Motion passed.

If you have any questions please see one of the council members. Enjoy some treats provided by the Zeid family and Food Fare, thank you so much for your generosity.

Introduction by Beverly Stephenson as Vice Principal. Admin Report by Heather Palmer

Welcome to:

Bev Stephenson (VP), Leah McBride (Head Secretary), Andrea Cox (Assistant Secretary), Kelsey Bergen (Music), Renee Lagace (Kindergarten), Barb Engel (Grade 2/3), Mark Hardern (Grade 4/5), Hannah Gillingham (EA) and welcome back to Meghan Ruth (Grade 1) and Jodi Sveistrup (PE, Health and Student Services).

School Goals:

Problem Solving: by June 2020, 100% of our students will be able to represent and communicate problem solving processes, strategies, and solutions, concretely, orally and in writing. All students will engage in a growth mindset and improve mathematical dispositions and attitudes.

Critical Thinking: by June 2020, 100% of our students will use the elements of reading and writing across content areas to critically articulate thinking, deepen understanding and communicate ideas.

School Improvements:

White Boards in Room 19 and Room 27, window replacements in room 16, 40 & 38 (not yet completed), exterior doors in Middle Hallway, new gym lights and parking lot painting. The Air Conditioning should be completed by mid-September.

September 2019 Important Information and Dates:

- Sep. 6 Strathmillan Child Care Center Closed
- Sep. 10 Election Day (Main Gym)
- Sep. 17 Early Dismissal @ 3:07 PM (New PM Bell Times)
- Oct. 1 Early Dismissal @ 3:07 PM (New PM Bell Times)
- Oct. 14 No School / Thanksgiving
- Oct. 15 Early Dismissal @ 3:07 PM (New PM Bell Times)
- Oct. 15 Parent Council @ 7 PM in the library
- Oct. 17 Jump Start into Kindergarten @ Strathmillan (PM)
- Oct. 23 Photo Day mini Gym
- Oct. 25 SAGE MY MTS PD/ Inservice

Attendance:

Sandy Marsh Hamm Trisha Broszeit **Carrie Hayward** Irene Beaulieu Alain Veilleux Meriena Kirsopp Wendy Marche Vicki Veilleux Christie Kostiuk Kirsten Fraser John Lanctat Lynsey Lachance Jennifer Mckenzie Andrea Philipsen **Octavio Santos** Domenica Nash Neal Einarson **Gurjeet Singh** Nalia Camara Lori Einarson Melissa Penner Vitel Monarp Buff Richardson Shanna Chan Erica Darvill Mitch Darvill Glenn Menge Katherine Lamoureux Rachelle Joyal Erin Murray Vijay Kumar Heather Palmer Rebecca Misko Dan Misko Janet Lewis **Cherish Payjack** Ryan Riou Sarrah Menge Liz Bilyk Fayka Zeid Tori Zeid Ainsley Stanley Stephen Stanley

Vloyo Miskigi Heidi Richardson Travis Fischer Maegan Clerinu Matthew McBurney Rhonda McLean Gloria Froese Rachel Jacob Rodrigo Riedel Sooryun Yoon Jan Slabbert